Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation 2022 Call for Nominations

By   8 March 2022

SIGLOG is calling for nominations for The Alonzo Church Award, which should be submitted to rjagadee at by April 2, 2022. The details of the award and the nomination procedure for this year are described in this post.


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt Gödel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding contribution represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published within the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and depth of the contribution to have been established. The award can be given to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated on the research. For the rules governing this award, see: here, here, and here.

The 2021 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Georg Gottlob, Christoph Koch, Reinhard Pichler, Luc Segoufin and Klaus U. Schulz for their ground-breaking work on logic-based web-data extraction, and querying tree-structured data. Previous awardees are listed here.

Eligibility and Nominations

The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2022 award, the cut-off date is January 1, 1997. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In addition, the contribution must not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the Gödel Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards for other contributions.) While the contribution can consist of conference or journal papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2022 award are now being solicited. The nominating letter must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to justify the nomination. Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations should be submitted to rjagadee at by April 2, 2022.

Presentation of the Award

The 2022 award will be presented at the Federated Logic Conference 2022, which is scheduled to take place in Haifa, Israel in July/August 2022. The award will be accompanied by an invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of the award winners. The awardee(s) will receive a certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple awardees, this amount will be shared.

Award Committee

The 2022 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five members: Thomas Colcombet, Mariangiola Dezani, Javier Esparza, Radha Jagadeesan (chair), and Igor Walukiewicz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *